Watch The Video For Dapo Tuburna And Mayorkun’s ‘See Finish’

About a month ago, fast-rising singer Dapo Tuburna teamed up with DMW star Mayorkun to release ‘See Finish’, his first single since ‘Penthouse’ with trap sensation Psycho YP and former label mate, Ycee. Produced by Quebeat, the track meditates on over-familiarity. It finds both acts dishing out guidelines to prevent ‘see finish’ and demystification which would strip you of your respect. “No let them see you finish,” they ultimately submit.

And just earlier today, Dapo Tuburna has unveiled a very colourful video to accompany the raving single, directed by Bash Em. Enjoy the video above.


Mayorkun Fields A Super Team Of M.I, Vector, Sinzu & Ycee On ‘Geng’ Naija Remix

Mayorkun scored a big one with ‘Geng’. Released to kick off the year, the song has been one of the most successful Nigerian songs in the past couple months. The song also generated it’s viral moment when it dropped with several acts jumping on the beat to deliver their covers. This cultural moment has now morphed into a four-track EP the DMW star titles “Geng Remix.” This compilation includes remixes from different geographic zones featuring an all-star cast of Kwesi Arthur, Ms.Banks, Ricky Rick and others.

For the Naija remix, Mayorkun taps some of the best rappers we have around, feilding a super team of Sinzu, Ycee, Vector and M.I. Over the all too familiar Quebeat-production, Sinzu opened the floor with a fire verse which we had initially heard on Twitter. Sinzu rides the beat like a wave with a bullish delivery that set the bar high for the other rappers coming behind. Ycee followed up with his cheeky verse enwrapped in multiple flows. Vector, however, did not live up to the hype, coming through with a lukewarm verse while M.I came out guns blazing at detractors to close the record.

Enjoy this record above and let us know who you think killed it.

Ajebutter 22 & Mayorkun Are All About That Reciprocal Energy On ‘Ginger You’

Ever since Ajebutter 22 revealed he had quit his 9-to-5 leaving enough room for him to focus on his music, we have been waiting for a new release from the rapper. And almost without warning, Ajebutter has joined forces with Mayorkun – who already has a 2020 hit to his name – for his 2020 debut, ‘Ginger You’. This comes just a couple of months after his collaborative tape, “Make E No Cause Fight 2” with friends and frequent collaborators, BOJ and Falz.

This Zanku-ready anthem is produced by the eccentric producer, Spax. Undoubtedly, this sizzling record testifies a great deal to Spax’s range as a producer.

Mayorkun on the other hand is on hook duty and he does so well to deliver one that’d get you hooked upon your first listen. As usual, Ajebutter comes through with his cool, calm and collected flow that coats his cheesy and goofy bars.

On ‘Ginger You’, Ajebutter 22 and Mayorkun are ready to give you that love and energy, but only one condition: it must be reciprocal. Anything less and you have no deal. 

Enjoy the record above. 

Teni Is The Star Of The Night At The 2019 Headies

After a night full of surprises, impressive live performances and disappointing rounds of no-shows, Teni emerged the biggest winner at the 2019 Headies. The singer who recently released her “Billionaire” EP walked home with four awards out of her six nominations including Best Pop Single for her 2018 monster hit, ‘Case‘. She was closely followed by Falz who bagged three awards including Best Album for the critics’ darling “Moral Instruction“. The biggest surprise of the night was Burna Boy who secured only two awards out of his eight nominations as well as Adekunle Gold who didn’t win any awards of his five nominations.

For the coveted Next Rated Award, Rema edged over Victor AD, Lyta, Zlatan and Joe Boy to secure the category that traditionally comes with a car. The Mavin Records‘ superstar, therefore, joins the ranks of Wizkid, Davido, Wande Coal, Asa, Reekado Banks who have won that award.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Revelation Of The Year: Mayorkun

Producer Of The Year: KillerTunes

Best Performer Award: Yemi Alade

Best Collaboration: Burna Boy x Zlatan -Killin Dem

Best Rap Album: Falz -Moral Instruction

Lyricist On The Roll: A-Q

Best Alternative Song: Johnny Drille

Best Rap Single: Falz -Talk

Best Street Hop Artiste: Chiko Ekun – Able God

Best Vocal Performance (Male): WurlD

Best Vocal Performance (Female): Teni

Rookie Of The Year: Barry Jhay

Best R&B Single: Seyi Shay – Give Me Love

Best Pop Single: Teni – Case

Best R&B Album: Mayorkun – Mayor Of Lagos

Best Music Video: Clarence Peters – Dangote

Next Rated: Rema

Artiste Of The Year: Burna Boy

Best Recording Of The Year: Teni

Song Of The Year: Burna Boy – Ye

Headies’ Viewer’s Choice: Teni

Grateful – Chillz ft Mayorkun

Producer Chillz teams up with The Mayor of Lagos to bring us a major jam.

The Afro-Pop joint is great for a shaku and thanksgiving. Chillz also jumps on the vocals, expressing his gratitude to God through all his move making. Of course, with help from the talented Mayorkun, you know this one is a hit.


Meet the Mayor Of Lagos

Since the release of his debut single Eleko, DMW signee Mayorkun has become one of the few artists with no bad songs. The singer has continued to feed Nigeria good music and it is with joy inna mi left breast that I bring the good tidings of the release of his debut album The Mayor of Lag0s (TMOL).

Scroll to top